The Roy Toth Award


  • Roy’s persistence regardless of the conditions or obstacle was his hallmark and showed everyone that even though he may never get a top prize he was all about the game.
  • Awarded to the Laser Sailor who has demonstrated unrelenting enthusiasm and participation in the face of stiff competition. This sailor freely approached top finishing fleet members for advice and freely accepted help on and off the water. This sailor made mistakes and learned because of them.
  • Envisioned not to be awarded to a sailor the top 25% of the fleet in a given year. This 25% will vote on the nominated candidate(s).
  • It need not be awarded in a year when a candidate does not stand out.
  • This trophy consists of Roy’s Laser deck compass mounted on a wooden table plaque.

Previous winners:

2021 No Award
2020 No Award
2019 David Williams
2018 Robert Harvey
2017 Roy Toth (posthumously)